Accrington Stanley will come up against former boss Paul Cook’s Wigan Athletic in the group stages of the Checkatrade Trophy.

Stanley have been drawn in Group B in the Northern Section and will also face League One newly promoted side Blackpool, who have just signed former Stanley star Jimmy Ryan.

The Groups, which are split into Northern and Southern sections, each currently contain three EFL clubs with a fourth to be added on Wednesday 12th July when the 16 invited Under 21 teams are drawn. For the Northern section these are: Everton, Leicester, Man City, Newcastle, Middlesbrough, Stoke, Sunderland and West Bromwich Albion.
The Group stage fixtures will also be confirmed next Wednesday, with invited under 21 teams to play all Group games away from home.

The Groups are as follows:
Northern Groups
Group A
Carlisle United
Fleetwood Town
Category 1 Club
Group B
Accrington Stanley
Wigan Athletic
Category 1 Club
Group C
Blackburn Rovers
Category 1 Club
Group D
Crewe Alexandra
Oldham Athletic
Port Vale
Category 1 Club
Group E
Coventry City
Shrewsbury Town
Category 1 Club
Group F
Bradford City
Rotherham United
Category 1 Club
Group G
Lincoln City
Mansfield Town
Notts County
Category 1 Club
Group H
Doncaster Rovers
Grimsby Town
Scunthorpe United
Category 1 Club