Wycombe Wanderers are the visitors to the Store First Stadium tomorrow afternoon.

As kick off approaches, the official website takes a look at all the things you need to know about the opposition.


Wycombe Wanderers Football Club, originally called North Town Wanderers, was founded around 1884 by a group of young furniture trade workers, who called a meeting at the Steam Engine public house to form a football club and enter junior football.

Wycombe Wanderers attained senior status ten years after their foundation. After short spells at various venues, like The Rye, Spring Meadow and Daws Hill Park, the club finally settled at Loakes Park in 1895.

The club joined the Southern League in the 1896-97 season and later left the league to join the Isthmian League in 1921. Between 1955 and 1975, the club enjoyed a dominant period in the League, winning the competition six times including winning it four years in a row.

Wycombe joined the Conference in 1987 and won it in the 1992-93 season to be promoted to the Football League Division Three, by now playing at Adams Park. A noteworthy point in the club’s history was in 2001 when they reached the FA-Cup semi-final but lost 2-1 to Liverpool at Villa Park. A few promotions and relegations have followed, leaving the Chairboys in the fourth tier of English football.

Why You Might Know Them…

Wycombe are called the Chairboys because of the tradition of chair-making in the town of High Wycombe. The nickname was used in the early days of the Club but was only resurrected in the 1980s


Gareth Ainsworth

Fans’ favourite Ainsworth was appointed caretaker manager on 24th September 2012 after Gary Waddock was relieved of his duties.

Ainsworth, who has also spent time in charge of QPR on a caretaker basis, Ainsworth finished the 2010/11 campaign with 11 goals – the second highest at the club – earning himself a place in the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

The right-midfielder signed for the club on an 18-month contract in February 2010 following a successful loan spell from QPR, where he had spent seven years at Championship and League One level.

Formerly of Preston, Port Vale and Wimbledon, Ainsworth retired after the last game of the season after making 600 professional appearances.

As well as announcing his retirement from playing in the final week of the season, Ainsworth also signed a new two-year deal to manage the Chairboys.

One to Watch

Dean Morgan

Initially signed on a short-term deal until January, Morgan impressed enough to have that deal extended until the end of last season.

After opening his Wanderers account against Exeter City, the influential forward has gone on to score a further eight goals including braces in the win over Portsmouth and draw with Morecambe.

His form saw him rewarded with a new one-year deal at Adams Park and the club will be hoping his goals can see them challenge for honours this season.

Morgan started his career at Colchester United before enjoying spells at Reading, Luton Town and Leyton Orient amongst others.


Accrington Stanley and Wycombe Wanderers have crossed paths on ten previous occasions, with the head to head record currently deadlocked.

Stanley have four wins with the Chairboys also on four victories. There have been two draws.

The last meeting between the sides came in March when Lee Molyneux’s last gasp goal at Adams Park gave the Reds a 1-0 win and all three points.

Gareth Ainsworth’s side were victorious at the Store First Stadium last December, with Bruno Andrade and Matt McClure scoring in a 2-0 win.

In fact Stanley’s only home win in the fixture came in the very first meeting back in 2006. Then Ian Craney and Andy Mangan were the Stanley scorers in a 2-1 victory.

The Reds are unbeaten in four matches and have won their last two against Morecambe and Bristol Rovers. They’ve lost just one game out of their last six.

Stanley remain bottom of the league Two table but are just a point from Bristol Rovers who are 21st.

Gareth Ainsworth’s side saw a run of three straight wins in all competitions come to an end with a 2-1 home defeat to Bury at the weekend.

The visitors are 12th with 20 points from their 13 games so far this season.

Rob Atkinson remains sidelined with a hamstring problem and George Miller faces a late fitness test on an ankle injury.

Kayode Odejayi is back in the equation following suspension and Laurence Wilson and Michael Liddle have returned to training after injury.

Midfielder Matt Bloomfield is suspended meaning Ainsworth will have to make at least one change but he has hinted that he may make more alterations to his eleven.

Accrington Stanley Goalscorers

Peter Murphy 3
James Gray 3
Kayode Odejayi 2
Danny Webber 2
Marcus Carver 1
Piero Mingoia 1
Kal Naismith 1

Wycombe Wanderers Goalscorers

Dean Morgan 5
Paris Cowan-Hall 3
Max Kretzschmar 3
Jo Kuffour 3
Matt McClure 2

The Man in the Middle

Chris Sarginson (Staffordshire)

So Far This Season: Nine games, 31 yellows,  no reds
Last Stanley Game:  ASFC 4 AFC Wimbledon 0 – 19/03/13

All supporters can pay at the turnstiles – this is a category B match so admission on the night is £15 for adults, £10 for over 65s, £6 for students & under 16s and £1 for accompanied under 12s.